Jersey Hair

I debated whether or not I wanted to write about my hair. I’ve gone back-and-forth thinking “wow I must be really be really vain or superficial.” I thought I was being silly to make a big deal out my hair.
But then I realized that I’m just like most girls: when our hair is a mess we feel like a mess, which makes us feel insecure and not pretty. And let’s face it, how many of us deep down want to be pretty? I know I do.
Having issues with my hair was not something I even considered when I came up here. Seemed like a no-brainer. Boy, was I wrong!
After about a week I noticed that my hair was getting drier, coarser and frizzier. I felt like I had scare crow hair! And I was beside myself trying to figure out what was wrong. I was following my usual routine, but my hair was a big ole disaster! Now Texas girls are fond of big hair, but this was outrageous!
Given that I grew up with a mom that was a hairstylist, I should’ve known what to do. But apparently I didn’t. Because another week passed & my hair kept getting worse! I was getting desperate.
I was wearing baseball caps ALL of the time. But the night we were getting ready to go to dinner in Atlantic City, my hair looked worse than a chia pet. And I couldn’t wear a ball cap. I wanted to cry, but I also wanted to hurry up & get to Atlantic City. So I braided it and it looked like braided straw with tiny, frizzy tentacles sticking out everywhere.
That was rock bottom. The next day I went to Rite Aid and stocked up. Think I stood in the hair product aisle for over 30 minutes! Why does there have to be so many products to choose from? I had no idea what to get because I didn’t even really know what was wrong with my hair.

Immediately I came back home, washed the beast and worked in lots of Shea butter leave-in conditioner afterwards. Once my hair dried, it was all calm & well-behaved. Like Dr Jekyl & Mr Hyde!
Who knew it was that simple? Not me!  It seems leave-in conditioner makes all the difference with the hard water they have up here! Here’s to great hair days!
Until next time y’all!

10 thoughts on “Jersey Hair

Leave a Reply

