Relaxing in the Poconos

When a dear friend invited me to spend the weekend at their cabin in the Pocono Mountains, I didn’t hesitate to accept. While I spent a few days in the Adirondacks last summer, this would be a far different experience. I wasn’t staying in a hotel across the street from a Dunkin Donuts. I was going to be staying in a cabin that wasn’t near some well-known franchise. I was going camping. In the mountains.

Can’t say I’m a big fan of camping. The only time I’ve slept in a tent, roughing it, was when I was 18 and in Mexico on a mission trip with my church. It was an eye-opening experience that was fulfilling and heartwarming, but it was also a long, hot and sweaty two weeks.

Nevertheless, I wasn’t going to let my past hangups deter me from what sounded like a welcome respite from my busy workweek. No traffic. No schedule. No deadlines. A time to slow down, which I just don’t do that often.

After getting off of work Friday night, I loaded up my Pomeranian, Lina into my SUV and we hit the road. She was dressed appropriately in her adorable “Happy Camper” dress.

An hour into our drive, we stopped in Buttzville at the infamous Hot Dog Johnny’s that my friend recommended we stop at on the way. Unfortunately, they only accepted cash, so we took a selfie and left. I’ll have to revisit the place sometime and sip on birch beer served in a frosted mug while I feast on a hot dog.


I was a little disappointed that we didn’t arrive until after dark since I was eager to soak it all in. But I was thrilled to stay up and visit with my friends for a bit before turning in for the night.

Best night of sleep I’ve had in a long time. I fell asleep within minutes. That never happens.

I woke up refreshed and ready for a 9am plyojam workout with my friend. But I did take a few minutes to appreciate the gorgeous view from the deck before heading out. The thin trees were like nature’s version of a filter overlaying the view of the lake.


We walked the trail along the lake to get to the fitness center. It was scenic and peaceful. Unlike our workout. I had no idea what plyojam was. Found out quickly. It was a cross between zumba and weighted exercises that made me think of the bootcamp I used to go to. But it was an abridged version with short reps of a set of exercises that cycled through a song until we moved on to the next set.


Afterwards we sat on the balcony, gazing over the water and drank the green juice that my friend and her husband blend and drink on a daily basis. Needless to say I was ready for a nap after that workout! But that would have to wait.

Lina and I took a long walk along the lake enjoying the scenery. She was just as happy as I was to have a new place to leisurely explore.


Later on we sat on the dock enjoying homemade margaritas while we waited for the rain to move in. It may have been the margaritas and Shiner Bock beer that prompted us to sit underneath the umbrella during the rainstorm, but it was well worth it. Once the storm began to pass, a vibrant rainbow appeared on the other side of the lake, with a second, more faint one framing it. It was breathtaking.



Sunday was even more low-key, with more time spent on the dock with an excursion out on the boat for a few hours. Such a quiet and tranquil place to drop the anchor, hang out, soak up the sun and play cards.



It was the most relaxing weekend I’ve had in quite some time.  I have to say, I totally fell in love with the mountains, which is something I never thought I’d say.  There’s a peace and serenity there I have never felt before.
Pure bliss y’all. ❤️

Leave a Reply

